Vray Advice for the Eternal Novice...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vray Advice for the Eternal Novice...

Hi, I've posted here before, usually asking for advice or solutions, and this is no exception. I'm an architect, and I've essentially brought 3D modelling and rendering to my firm about a year ago when I started. With Vray the quality of my renderings skyrocketed from just using the default scanline renderer, but I think I've plateaud, and I could really use some direction from those of you who have really become experts in digital illustration.

I have been doing the vast majority of my modelling in AutoCAD (it's familiar and I can count on the accuracy of our base plans) but I've started getting better at making furniture and other non-orthagonal objects using MAX (slowly...) anyways, I really think that I need to learn better how experts create and use materials in Vray as well as better ways to light interier scenes. I read every link I can find, but I still don't understand how you professionals create such lifelike materials with great variations of tone. I've played with the procedural maps, but I just can't recreate anything decently. So... can anyone recommend an awesome resource for material creation specifically for Vray? Or do I just need to start from scratch and learn MAX's procedural maps first and then learn to use them within Vray? I would also like to better understand the science behind all the different GI calculations (the help file only mystifies me more.)

I know this is asking a lot, but any advice would be great. I just don't understand how you guys/gals have become so knowledgeable (is it just from experience?). Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Current rendering project using newly aquired Vray 1.5.

Thanks.

- Alex