Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vray crashes high res rendering

Hi

I am trying to render my image to 3400x2200 with vray 1.50 but it crashes as soon as it gets to "preparing global light manager"
    I’m using VIZ2006 on a Xeon Dual 2.40GHz, 2GB Ram

I tried using dynamic under system rollout but it takes 20 hours to render

see link for my vray settings and rendering image
    http://www.cgarchitect.com/vb/21473-...ashes-viz.html

Please help me
    Thanks

[/url]

Vray and raytrace = bad that's all IMO
    =:-/
    Laurent

Comment

I removed all the raytraced materials, and it crashed again

Anyone else? Please; I need to deliver this image to the client in high resolution

Comment

Have you tried saving to a vrimg?
        Eric Boer
        Dev

Comment

Eric,

Can you please explain a bit more; I’m new to vray, what’s vrimg?

Thank you

Comment

If your render crashes because of memory problems, you can try to save it to a vrimg in vray frame buffer. There you define your resolution, You can uncheck render to memory, and in max's size you put something small like 20x20.
            This way your render will directly be written to your vrimg and it will save you a lot of ram.
            Then you can open the file in max and save it to a different image format, or use the vrimg2exr tool.

Also check this old topic:
            http://new.chaosgroup.com/forum/phpB...t=hires+memory

Comment

Ok, now it’s rendering thanks a lot, but it estimates the render time to about 5.5 hours, is it normal in vray for high res renderings?

Comment

Originally posted by mjaco
                Ok, now it’s rendering thanks a lot, but it estimates the render time to about 5.5 hours, is it normal in vray for high res renderings?