Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

90 Second Vray Animation predicts 1/4 of a year to complete! WTF??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 90 Second Vray Animation predicts 1/4 of a year to complete! WTF??

Hey folks,

Can somebody please help me solve an issue that is driving me absolutely crazy?

I have been using 3DS MAX / Vray now, for almost 2 years (using it everyday) and I have hit my first major brick wall.
    Over the 2 years I have managed to resolve all my issues with a little bit of research, but this time I have well and truly hit the wall.

Basically I am trying to render out a 90 second flythrough animation. To make it easier to render, I have divided the 90 second sequence up into 10 parts (10 cameras).
    I began with the easiest one - A simple flythrough animation down a corridor that lasts all of 3 seconds! (90 frames)

After following a lot of training, a ton of research and various peoples' input I discovered the best way to render out this sequence is to run a light cache first, followed by an irradiance map and then a final render.
    (I should note the frame size is set for a 600 x 800 window).

Today it took 4 hrs to render the light cache, 6hrs to render the irradiance map and 5 hrs to get to frame 3 of 90!!! so i hit the cancel button!
    At this speed, we'd be looking at 4 days to render 3 seconds and approx 3-4months to render out this small sequence!

I have played around and tested every single possible setting i can think of, but it seems to only get worse.
    Everyone I have spoke to said that this is obviously not right and that perhaps there is a setting on that's causing it to take so long. (i just cant find it)

I could go through the many options I have set up, but I think its best if someone can take a look at the file for me?
    If you fancy a challenge? Let me know and I'll upload it.

I should mention my spec is :
    Windows 7 Home Premium
    AMD Athlon II X4 640 Processor 3.00GHz