vrayblender2 vs vrayblender3 - speed issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vrayblender2 vs vrayblender3 - speed issue

First I must say I am very new to vrayblender3 so I might make some errors on my evaluation.
    So I ask yo please to correct me if I am wrong.

I installed vray standalone beta 3 from the nightlies and fired Andrey's vrayblender2 2.71 build from 2014-08-01.
    I opened an old xfrog tree, sun and vray sky and irradiance map and light cache. Pretty much the defaults.
    I render it and I reduced my render time in 20% if I compare to vray standalone 2.0.
    You can see it in this post.

After that I fired up Andrey's vrayblender3 2.71 build from 2014-08-28.
    (Sorry Andrey but these days the nightlies page is down and I can't have a newer build to test new features like fresnell curves, but I'll promise I will as soon as the server is up)
    I opened the same scene and I tried to use convert materials. It just didn't work.
    The world environment was also wrong.
    So I decided to clean it up and generate materials from scratch with that awesome blender nodes.
    At the same time I also made the simple vray sky and sun with nodes.
    I looked at the settings and saw that the blender defaults have also changed. No problem, I corrected them and they were exactly the same as vrayblender2.
    I rendered the scene and I came to these conclusions:
    1) The render time more than doubled!
    2) The light decay is messed. You have much less light flowing into the scene.

So I ask:
    - Can anyone confirm this?
    - Andrey, do you want my scenes to test it?

P.S.: Don't get me wrong. I was quite astonished by the amount of work that is already finished. At the same time vrayblender3 is the future and a marvellous evolution for vray users with a more powerfull workflow!
    Attached Files
    Arquitecto is just a very nice architect in Portugal ...

Solved

Ok, I feel a bit embarassed...