Vray 6 rendering makes entire system extremely laggy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vray 6 rendering makes entire system extremely laggy

I've been using vray for many years now, but it's the first version that makes the entire system laggy. So laggy that the PC is pretty much inoperable. Some time it doesn't even recongize if I press stop rendering or press esc. And forget about using the computer for anything else while rendering. Not even writing an email. Feels like vray is using 99.99% of the system ressources.

Is anyone else experiencing the same?

Hello !!

Yes, it happens to me too, not so exaggerated, but the same thing happens to me... I thought it was because I used Windows Professional instead of the home version.

i have 64gb ram and intel i9 7940X with 24 threads​!!

regards
    Carlos Alvarez Velazquez

Tutorials about VRay for Maya:
    https://youtube.com/CarlosAlvarezVelazquez

Comment

Originally posted by Twist View Post
      I've been using vray for many years now, but it's the first version that makes the entire system laggy. So laggy that the PC is pretty much inoperable. Some time it doesn't even recongize if I press stop rendering or press esc. And forget about using the computer for anything else while rendering. Not even writing an email. Feels like vray is using 99.99% of the system ressources.

Is anyone else experiencing the same?
      It’s a problem at all out machines at work so i know it’s not contained to certain machines, but the Vray software itself.

System:
      win 10
      3950x
      2080ti
      vray 6.00.02

Comment

Originally posted by Twist View Post
        Feels like vray is using 99.99% of the system ressources.
        Indeed, the goal is to utilize 100% of the resources, after all. It can make some actions like passing a 'stop' (escape) command lag, that's true.
        If you plan on doing other tasks with your machine, you might want to consider enabling "low priority" for V-Ray.